Short Review: A Profile

Objectivity Note:

My review will always be biased, even when I try to factor that out. For example, an aspect pertaining family will gain a few more points because I like that type of route. A novel that make you cry will also raise it, I’ll even raise it a whole grade if it’s under A. It’s just your preferences, such as a horror fan will praise it more than I would.

Ranking Note:

C rank is not bad, I might have a great time reading a novel that I’d rank as C.
Other ranks: B=Impressive in some regard, A=great/amazing, S=Loved it/must read.

I’m writing this while I’m uploading a few videos for work because my coworker fails with https standards.

2423110-745

The novel is made by akbeisoft2, which is pretty well known for both G Senjou and Sharin no Kuni. Funny enough, A Profile came after Sharin no Kuni, yet the quality is severely inferior for the most part. The fact that I still remember three or four tracks, the ost is at least decent, like the track Blind.

There’s a total of 3 routes in this novel: Rizu, Miku, Miou.
Rizu’s route is completely useless, it doesn’t add anything to the overall story. In all honesty, Rizu is more of a subject that develops and improves Miou’s route.
There’s no correct order in the routes aside from reading Rizu before Miou’s. Thus you can read Miku’s whenever. However I’d recommend Rizu>Miku>Miou. In short, get it over with Rizu, then have a good time with Miku and then finish it with Miou as I kinid of feel that’s the route they wanted to make canon.

Most of the cast are pieces of shit. Honestly, aside from Miku, everybody in the cast is a piece of shit.

Yet, I don’t really hate the novel itself. The two routes are rather interesting on fight against personal problems a good amount of people go through. I find the novel structured to be one about self reflection and acceptance of your faults. If you you overcome them or live with them is on your own accord. Of course, this means you should ignore this novel for now if you wanted something more light-hearted.

I see it as a C+ at best, mainly because of Rizu. While the art and ost is fine, getting over shitty people that sometimes are ok people isn’t always a great time. It’s nothing extremely out of the ordinary but it’s not completely generic either. Thus it fits perfectly as a C. Meaning it’s fine, it’s just not worthy to go crazy over.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.