Short Visual Novel Review: Brass Restoration

Note: It’s short mainly because it won’t go through that much detail
2nd Note: This kind of explains for itself, but the reviews aren’t based on what I read recently. As long I still remember most of the novel, I might write something about it.

brass restoration

Brass Restoration:

The novel is surprisingly long considering the size of the game is around 50MB. This is mainly because the music isn’t extravagant and there’s no voice acting, though it’s still around twenty hours long.
It has four routes with several bad endings(there’s some ok endings but they’re probably still considered bad endings).

The novel centers around a drummer who lost his arm in an accident. Follow his life and how he deals with his depression of his loss.

I found Minori’s route to be the most interesting of the four, it can get quite emotional.
Honestly, I’m not sure why I keep getting surprised that the childhood route is good, I might’ve read more good childhood routes than generic ones so far.

Kouri’s route was quite cute, while Yui’s route is mainly stereotypical of a tomboy route(though I generally enjoy those almost all the time too).
I disliked Yoshino’s route. I feel it’s a route that has too many areas where it’d break if you ask the simplest questions but the writer just says “it’s fine tho, it’s to progress the story in a way I want”. I’m also the type of person that disliked Miyako from the EF novels, though I find Yoshine better than Miyako.

The reason why I read this was because I found out I never disliked a novel that centers around music.
If that’s the case with you as well, and you like some humor here and there, then maybe it’d be a good read for you.

I have no rating for this one though. The company that made it is an amateur one, and the novel is free to begin with.
But if I had to rate it like I bought it:
Yoshine: D~C (if you like a paperback soap opera, then you’d like it)
Minori: B+(because it uses what it has effectively, I did cry in one scene)
Kouri: C~C+(some people might hate how she refers herself in third person). (I think I also cried in this one, forgot).
Yui: C~C+ (some people just don’t like tomboys, and can be seen as generic)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.