How I think Clannad should be played in route order

Honestly, you can play the routes is almost any order and it’d be fine, give or take some confusion.
And what I find to be the correct order is going to be a hassle as it requires to do Nagisa twice(like 95% is skipped since the novel knows you read it already).

Before I go along with that, here’s the normal order most people take(because it’s part of fuwa’s walthrough)
Misae -> Tomoyo -> Yukine -> Ryou -> Kyou -> Kappei -> Sunohara -> Ichinose -> Fuko -> Toshio -> Nagisa+after

This is how I went through it:
Ryou/Kyou->Misae->Yukine->Tomoyo->Sunohara->Kappei->Ichinose->Fuko->Toshio->Nagisa+after.

Which is kind of a weird way to do it.

The remaining after the new order is just explanations of why it’s ordered that way.
So, I’d go with Yukine->Misae->Ryou/Kyou->Kappei->Tomoyo->Fuko->Sunohara->Toshio->Ichinose->Nagisa.

When I say Sunohara, I don’t mean the joke gay ending. It can also be called Mei’s ending or the Sunohara Siblings ending. But Mei is just another catalyst, it’s really about Sunohara and Tomoya.
Ryou is optional, but it’s short and it flows better with Kyou and Kappei’s routes, so do it before those two.
Sunohara should be done before Toshio.
Honestly, I don’t see much with Misae and Tomoyo. It could’ve been any character but most stories don’t have the MC go to the festival so it leads to Tomoyo’s route that gets you the orb.
Ichinose should be played right before Nagisa as it’s good to keep the concepts of her route in mind for After Story.
Yukine and Misae should be played together. It all depends if you want to know the answer and then experience Misae, or experience and then get the answer from Yukine.

Now, there’s another way to see the routes in, but that alludes to my next post so I’ll leave till then.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.